The digital marketing vocabulary is crowned by a fourth section, which brings together terms related to marketing planning and measurement, as well as terms encountered when working with advertising with any local SEO Agency.
Remarketing can reach those who have visited the website. For example, all visitors to a website, visitors to a particular page (s), or visitors to an online store who have added a product to their cart but did not purchase it. Remarketing can be done through social media channels as well as through the Google Ads Tool. For remarketing, the ad can also be implemented dynamically, i.e., the user will see the content of the ad in the products/services he has browsed on the website.
RLSA, Remarketing Lists for Search Ads, remarketing list
Remarketing can also be done on Google’s search engine, allowing the user to target a different keyword ad after visiting the website.
Marketing ROI, ROMI and ROAS
ROI (Return on Investment) is a measure of how much money invested, or capital has returned a return to a company. The terms ROI (Return of Investment) and ROMI (Return of Marketing Investment) are used in marketing, the former being a general term and the latter referring more to marketing. ROAS (Return of Ad Spend), on the other hand, tells you how much money you put into advertising has brought back revenue to your business. The simplest formula is to calculate the return on advertising, but if there are a lot of other costs involved in implementing the advertising, they should be taken into account when calculating overall profitability.
Example: The campaign has cost € 2,000 and sold € 25,000. Other costs related to marketing can also be taken into account here, for example, the outsourced partner’s fee of € 1,000 would be calculated ((25,000 – 2000 – 1000) / 3000) * 100 = 733%
An example is ROAS, in which only advertising costs are calculated. Sales through advertising € 12,000 and advertising costs € 2,000, in which case this would be calculated at 12,000 / 2000 * 100 = 600%.
Groups are a way to bring together users who are interested in the same topic. These groups can be created on some channels (e.g. Facebook & LinkedIn) and groups can be created on the website in a password-locked section (e.g. online coaching). The group can be closed or public, be managed by a business page, and/or involve topics that connect users, such as hobbies, work, or networking.
Saved Audience, recorded audience
An audience created in the social media advertising tool that is saved for later use. The recorded audience includes the demographics and interests of the target audience.
Placements are placements you choose through the advertising tool. For example, a Facebook advertising tool can add a newsfeed ad, a right-handed computer view ad, an Instagram in-stream ad, an ad in Instagram stories, or Facebook Messenger or Messenger stories. Similarly, in LinkedIn advertising, placements can be selected as advertising in the news feed, text ad at the top of the news feed, image + text on the right side of the computer view.
SKAG = Single Keyword Ad Group
Google Ads Campaign Strategy: Single Keyword Ad Group. In this ad campaign, each ad group contains one keyword, which includes multiple, highly specific ad groups with targeted ads.
SMART is a definition that can be used to set more specific goals for marketing. The SMART model defines the goal as precisely as possible, giving it a clear timeline, being measurable and comparable, relevant to the company’s business perspective, and being realistic.
S – specific, clearly defined, M – measurable, A – achievable, achievable, R – relevant, relevant & related to overall objectives, T – timely, relevant.
Example: marketing goal: We are reaching more customers.
Example: SMART goal: We aim for growth, which means 20% more customers in 2020 or 15 more customers or € 15,000 more revenue compared to 2019.
In order to make the goal understandable from a marketing point of view, this can also be broken down into sub-goals and to support the planning and implementation of marketing (see also ROI, ROMI, ROAS to monitor the achievement of goals), e.g.
We are aiming for growth, which means € 15,000 more turnover in 2020 compared to 2019. Growth is sought in e-commerce sales (+ € 5,000), stone foot shop (+ € 8,000) and event sales (+ € 2,000).
Links on a website that redirect to another site within the same website. This can be used to direct the customer to read more about the topic, but the same internal linking can be used to influence e.g. search engine optimization. For example, this >> digital marketing << is an internal link to another page on a website. A good practice for internal linking is to use a more descriptive link instead of just “read more” text. Then it gives a little more information to the search engine about the actual content of the site.
Content marketing is a way of implementing marketing that aims to produce content that is interesting and targeted to the customer. Content can mean text, images, videos, blogs, expert articles, trend reports, guides, instructional videos, etc. Content is produced on the company’s own channels, to support sales, and to be distributed to various social media channels. Content marketing is not the same thing as advertising, but the goal of content is to promote the company’s visibility and sales in the long run. Content marketing is guided by a content strategy that defines content themes, different forms of content, goals, target groups and their information needs.